Albemarle Foundation for Education

A logo that depicts a sun rising over mountains and reads "Albemarle Foundation for Education"

Established in 2022, the Albemarle Foundation for Education (AFE) is designed to help Albemarle County Public Schools reach its bold aspirations for student success. The Albemarle Foundation for Education will work in close concert with the school division to generate community commitment to help the division reach its strategic goals. 

To align with ACPS, the mission of the AFE is to generate community commitment to helping each student in Albemarle County Public Schools thrive.

Goal 1: Enhanced Educational Opportunities

We support and celebrate the development of students, prioritize opportunities that align with the ACPS strategic goals and seek to address systemic barriers to academic success.

Goal 2: Support and Celebrate Teachers and Staff

We support and celebrate teachers and staff, both in their growth as professionals and their well-being and satisfaction with their work. While the AFE exists to ensure the success of each student, we deeply value the vital role teachers and staff play in this work.

Goal 3: Innovation and Transformation

We look for bold ideas and support innovative educational programs and activities that would not otherwise be funded by the school system. By measuring the effectiveness of these efforts, we help ACPS scale new initiatives that show promise.

Goal 4: Family and Community Partnerships

We believe that families, students, teachers, staff and the community should work in partnership to support the division's educational efforts. We aim to foster community involvement and collaboration in pursuit of our mission.

Make a Donation


Or you can mail a check to

Albemarle Foundation for Education
401 McIntire Road, 3rd Floor
Charlottesville, VA 22902

Foundation Officers

Paul Matherne, President
Amy Laufer, Vice President of Development
Randy Tripp, Jr., Vice President of Marketing & Events
Rebecca Berlin, Vice President of Finance & Governance
Jennifer Winslow, Secretary

Foundation Board Members
Kate Acuff Amy Laufer
Nanette Alcaro Paul Matherne
Temi Anderson Trey Maxham
Rebecca Berlin Jerrod Smith
Julie Christopher Randy Tripp, Jr.
Scott Guggenheimer Jennifer Winslow