Skip to main content
43 Teachers in Charlottesville City, Albemarle County Receive Golden Apple Awards and Grants for Classroom Excellence
DATE:                  May 13, 2016
CONTACT:         Phil Giaramita, Public Affairs and Strategic Communications Officer, 
                              Albemarle County Public Schools
PHONE:              434-972-4049
43 Teachers in Charlottesville City, Albemarle County Receive
Golden Apple Awards and Grants for Classroom Excellence
(ALBEMARLE COUNTY, Virginia) – At the 15th Golden Apple celebration last evening, 43 local public and private K-12 school teachers received awards and grants as part of the annual regional program sponsored by Better Living in Charlottesville. Better Living is an independent building supply company that has made community service a core value since its founding in 1893. Adrian Felts, the Chair of the Charlottesville Albemarle Regional Chamber of Commerce, was the evening’s keynote speaker.
“All of us remember outstanding teachers who helped us and made a significant difference in our lives,” said Richard L. Nunley, Chairman of the Better Living Board. “We created the Golden Apple Award Program to recognize each year the exceptional and innovative teachers who contribute so much to our children and families in Central Virginia,” Mr. Nunley added.
The Golden Apple program celebrates performance excellence and curriculum innovations by teachers who are nominated for the award by principals, colleagues, parents and students. An independent panel reviews each nomination and selects the award winners. The honorees were recognized last evening at a program held in Lane Auditorium in the McIntire Road Albemarle County Office Building.
Dr. Kevin Castner, former Albemarle County Public Schools Superintendent, and John Baldino, a retired director for Blue Ridge Uniserve, co-chaired the review panel, which also included two parent council representatives, Jakki Crocker from Charlottesville City and Rhonda Angel from Albemarle County. Also on the panel were Bekah Saxon from Blue Ridge Uniserve and Mo Gaffney from the Virginia Association of Independent Schools.
One Albemarle County Public Schools teacher, Gabrielle Schoppa of Burley Middle School, received a 21st Century Learning in the Classroom project grant of $1,000 last year and provided an update on her work. Schoppa used her grant to start a robotics club at Burley and to purchase robotics kits plus educational software. “Constructing functional robots engages students while building on math and science concepts. Students learn how to overcome design challenges, how simple and complex machines work, and how to build other systems using similar components,” she reported.
Eight teachers were randomly selected last evening for classroom grants, each for $1,000. Among those teachers who will receive grants next year are George Cheape from CATEC; Paul Jones of Monticello High School; Brandon Readus from Stone-Robinson Elementary School; Sarah Inge from Stony Point Elementary School; Emily Smoak of Sutherland Middle School; The Covenant School’s Martha Bar; Cindy Cartwright from Venable Elementary School; and William Thomas Matics from Walton Middle School.
Among the 2016 Golden Apple award winners from Albemarle County Public Schools were:
Adam Spencer Mohr, Agnor-Hurt Elementary School
Janene Reid, Albemarle High School
Nicole Erdim, Baker-Butler Elementary School
Deborah Johnson, Broadus Wood Elementary School
Kate Mahanes, Brownsville Elementary School
Lynette Gallagher, Burley Middle School
Anna Balazs, Cale Elementary School
George Cheape, CATEC
Kathryn Durkee, Community Public Charter School
Sarah Ackenbom, Crozet Elementary School
Kristen Eberly, Greer Elementary School
Carrie Rocket, Henley Middle School
Ann Marie Lancaster, Hollymead Elementary School
Hannah Peters, Jouett Middle School
Karla Kirtley, Meriwether Lewis Elementary School               
Paul Jones, Monticello High School                    
Heather Solga, Murray Elementary School
Catherine Glover, Murray High School
Hannah Collins, Red Hill Elementary School
Michael Armstrong, Scottsville Elementary School
Brandon Readus, Stone-Robinson Elementary School
Sarah Inge, Stony Point Elementary School
Emily Smoak, Sutherland Middle School
William Thomas Matics, Walton Middle School
Jason Collier, Western Albemarle High School
Courtney Kluender, Woodbrook Elementary School
Katie Kasubick; Yancey Elementary School
2016 Golden Apple Award winners from Charlottesville City Schools included:
Patricia Luke, Buford Middle School
Tracy Snead Weaver, Burnley-Moran Elementary School
Jennifer Horne, Charlottesville High School
Mary Craig, Clark Elementary School
Ronald Green, Greenbrier Elementary School
Shannon Gillikin, Jackson-Via Elementary School
Leslie Scally, Johnson Elementary School
Cindy Cartwright, Venable Elementary School
Alexander Piedra, Walker Upper Elementary School
2016 Golden Apple Award winners from local private schools included:
Katelyn Buerlein, Charlottesville Catholic School
Thomas Fickley, Miller School of Albemarle
Sue Alston, Mountaintop Montessori School
Brian Gulotta, St. Anne’s Belfield School
Brett Brunner, Tandem Friends School
Krystle Roach, The Blue Ridge School
Martha Bar, The Covenant School
Click here for more information from each recipient’s nomination.

Get Acrobat PDF Reader You may need the free Acrobat Reader to access information presented in PDF format.